Ode to the QR Code

The resurgence of technology and the passing of time

Jen McGahan
3 min readAug 20, 2020
Photo by ray rui on Unsplash

When QR codes were new to me
I downloaded my first app
and asked my nerd ex-husband
how many possibilities
one chippy square could hold.

Infinite, he said
which impressed me then,
the code itself, and the man whose brain
could hold so much
and instantly go there.
It’s been so many years, yet for stuff like that,
his easy access to one-word discussions,
as if all things were simple,
I like him still.

There was the time
when I had my own code,
one of the limitless codes,
more than the number of atoms in the universe,
printed on a postcard.

I handed out hundreds
at a conference in La Jolla,
then hopped a plane to Utah
to visit my child in wilderness therapy,
climbing rocks in the cool air like a bear girl.
She showed me how to hold the ropes for her,
then she for me, making use of gravity and tension,
as always, sending up yelps of encouragement…

--

--

Jen McGahan

Curious mom, writer, & lymphatic massage therapist in Austin. “Lymph is everything.” Want more? Visit my website: www.lonestarlymphatic.com. Welcome in!